Starting with summary

‘I have never looked into my sister’s eyes. I have never bathed alone. I have never stood in the grass at night and raised my arms to a beguiling moon. I’ve never used an airplane bathroom. Or slept through the night. Never a private talk. Or solo walk. I’ve never climbed a tree. Or faded into a crowd.’

That’s the first 9 sentences of The Girls by Lori Lansens. Into those nine are packed a clear voice, an engaging puzzle, telling detail and a hint of poetry. One of our recent prompts was to begin writing a list using the phrase ‘I don’t like’ and see what kind of character emerged. A similar approach would work here.

Can you think of nine things your character has never done or will never do? It would be interesting to mirror Lansen’s sentence structure also. They fragment and become more informal as she creates her list.

Here’s a link to The Girls in case anyone wants to find out more about her narrator.

This entry was posted in sentence/story starters, writing prompts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

